Lemon Posset & The Return of the Prodigal Food Blogger

Image

I am back! Whew! The last part of my summer (around the same time I stopped blogging) had been a craaaazy part of my life. I was accepted to med school in Australia, as well as a masters in occupational therapy in Canada, so it had been a terrible decision making process, which had zapped all of my blogging energy up. I chose occupational therapy, which has been absolutely amazing thus far, a wonderful profession that truly looks at the human condition as a whole, not just on their disease or disabilities, but how we find meaning and purpose in life, and how we occupy our lives: encompassing our psyche, our physical self, socio-cultural-physio environment and how we engage in all of this through our pursuits in life. Truly, OTs deserve much more recognition in what they stand for! School had been incredibly busy with constant (and I mean every week!) group work, assignments, tests and waves of presentation. This holiday break, I had gone crazy in my kitchen to make up for all the missed cooking (or let’s be honest, lazy cooking) opportunities in the past few months, and I have decided that when school starts, I will try to post at least once or twice per month. Perhaps with no step-by-step photos, but I will do my best!

For this post, I want to share a ridiculously simple British recipe, that even I can manage at the busiest of times. The Lemon Posset is a lemony custardy dish that can be served as a dessert or even in little hor d’oeuvre cups for all you peeps planning a nice party! It’s sweet, lemony tanginess, paired with refreshing mint and tart raspberries (trust me, they’re more than a garnish), is bound to steal your taste buds away!

Here you go, another Nommy Noms Recipe:

Lemon Posset

Serves about 5, or about 8 Hor D’oeuvre Cups

Ingredients:

  • 3 Cups Heavy Cream
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 2 Tbsp of Lemon Zest (about the rind of 1 medium lemon)
  • 9 Tbsp (~60mL) of Fresh Squeezed Lemon Juice

The Fun Part:

  1. Pour in cream and sugar in a sauce pan and bring to a boil, stirring constantly to make sure the cream doesn’t burn at the bottom of the pan.
  2. Continue stirring until the mixture is softly boiling for about 3 minutes until the sugar is melted. Add the lemon juice, and lemon zest. Taste test and adjust flavours to your taste (I prefer it a bit more sour).
  3. Pour into serving cups (preferably clear glass ones), and refrigerate for about 5-6 hours to set.
  4. Once set, place mint leaves and raspberries on top of the Posset and serve!

Note:

  • If you are organizing a cocktail party, where the possets will be left out for extended periods of time. The posset can get overly melty in an hour or so. Try popping them in the freezer an hour before serving to extend their “shelf life”.
  • Avoid washing raspberries. The finicky berries will bruise and bleed and get smushy very quickly! Raspberries are like cats. They hate water.

Image

Here’s how I served my Posset in a Christmas tea I hosted recently. Aren’t they gorgeous?

2 thoughts on “Lemon Posset & The Return of the Prodigal Food Blogger

Leave a Reply

