Strawberry Kiwi Pavlova w/ Mission Fig Brulee

PavlovaA2_blog

Ahhh… Pavlova. Summer fruit’s best friend.

OT School finally came to an end, and now I have a month of summer to enjoy myself. After making every effort to do nothing yesterday (ie. binge watching Breaking Bad while polishing off my stash of vanilla dessert twists), I’ve decided that I should kick start the second day of my break with some cooking. Still reeling from my laziness, I decided against going to the grocers, and scourged my fridge and pantry for inspiration. As I opened the door of my fridge, a Tupperware of egg whites tumbled down the top shelf, leaped into my arms. Undoubtedly jealous of it’s yolky counterpart’s career as a Strawberry Sabayon I made a few days ago, the whites shouted “Pick me! PICK ME!! I want to be something FABULOUS!”. And so, I decided that today was destined to be a pavlova day. As I continue to recover from the trauma that was my final week of school, I decided that making a custard filling was too much effort and opted for an easy peasy super breezy whipped cream filling instead. Equally delicious when paired with the right fruits in my opinion.

A good pavlova has a satisfying crunch on the outside, and a chewy center on the inside. This balance of crunch and chewy is kept by the delicate ratio of sugar and egg whites, so as much as I am an advocate to change/modify recipes, the ratio of sugar to egg whites should be kept relatively similar. If you find the meringue to be too sweet, opt for tart fruits and unsweetened fillings instead. Here you have it, another Nommy Noms recipe:

Strawberry Kiwi Pavlova w/ Mission Fig Brulee

Yield a 9-inch Pavlova

Ingredients

  • 4              Large Egg Whites (Room temperature)
  • 1C           White granulated sugar
  • 1t             Vanilla Extract
  • ½ t           Cream of Tartar
  • 2t             Cornstarch + Extra for dusting parchment paper
  • 1 ½ C      Heavy Cream
  • 2T           Powdered Sugar
  • 4             Kiwis (sliced)
  • 12           Strawberries (quartered)
  • 5             Black Mission Figs (halved)
  • ¼ C        Granulated Sugar

The Fun Part:

  1. Preheat oven to 300F.
  2. Draw a circle (9inch diameter) on parchment paper. Crumble paper, and gently unfold (be careful not to tear). Line a cookie sheet with the unfolded parchment paper, and sprinkle the circled part of the parchment paper with cornstarch.
  3. In a large CLEAN bowl, beat egg whites until very soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar, about 1 tablespoon at a time, allow sugar to be incorporated before spooning in a second tablespoon. Beat until egg white is thick, glossy and forms firm peaks.
  4. Add in vanilla extract and corn starch. Fold gently until just incorporated.
  5. Pour mixture onto the circled portion of the parchment paper. Gently spread egg whites from the centre towards the outside. Allow more egg whites on the edge of the circle, leaving a depression in the center.
  6. Pop in the oven for about 50 mins. Turn off oven and allow it to bake for another 10 mins. Cool baked meringue on a wire rack until room temperature.
  7. In another bowl, add powdered sugar to heavy cream and whisk until stiff peaks form.
  8. While whisking, generously sprinkle figs with a layer of sugar and torch with a kitchen torch until sugar turns a delicious golden browns. [Alternatively, melt sugar over a small saucepan with a tablespoon of corn syrup and heat over the stove till hard crack (ie. 300F). Quickly pour hot syrup over figs.]
  9. Assemble Pavlova: Place meringue on a plate. Spoon whipped cream into the depression of the meringue and pile on the fruits!
  10. OM NOMNOMNOMNOM!

PavlovaB_blog

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Kiwi Pavlova w/ Mission Fig Brulee

Leave a Reply

