Apricot and Quinoa Tabuleh with Pickled Radish and Toasted Almonds

ApricotTabuleh1

Guess who’s back? …Back again? ME! It’s MEE!! REMEMBER ME?!?!

I have many excuses to explain my absence from the blogosphere: school, practicums, research… But what’s important is:

A. I’m DONE my masters!  B. I will hopefully pass my licensing exam and be a full-fledged Occupational Therapist in 3 short months!! C. I have time to reorganize and start blogging again!!!

Last night, I made a Mediterranean meal, and for the apps, I prepared a Three-Dip Platter of Baba Ganoush, Hummus and an Apricot “Tabuleh”.  I say “tabuleh” because I mean it in the loosest terms, I had no bulgar in the pantry, my garden tomatoes were unripe (and I was too lazy to go to the store), and seeing those delicious looking apricots sitting merrily in my fruit basket, I decided to forgo the red onions and go with a sweet, fruity, and nutty version of the traditional tomato-parsley-bulgar salad.  This version is perfect for the summer, either as a light lunch, or an appetizing start to a dinner.

Apricot and Quinoa Tabuleh with Pickled Radish and Almonds

Makes about 2 Cups

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup Quinoa
  • 1/2 – 1 Cup Parsley (roughly chopped)
  • 1/4 Cup Pomegranate Seeds
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 1/3 Cup Almond Flakes or Slivers (toasted)
  • 1 tsp Orange Essence
  • 1 Medium Apricot (cubed)
  • 3 Small Radishes (thinly sliced and then quartered)
  • 1/2 Cup Vinegar
  • 1/2 Cup Warm Water
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 1/3 Cup Almond Flakes or Slivers (Toasted)

The Fun Part:

  1. Toast Quinoa in an empty saucepan until lightly golden, then, cook quinoa based on package instructions. Usually it’s 1 part quinoa: 2 parts water, bring to boil, and then simmer for about 15 minutes, uncovered. I usually add a pinch of salt to the cooking water.
  2. While the Quinoa is cooking, prepare the pickling fluid for the radish by dissolving sugar in warm water and vinegar and a pinch of salt. Place sliced and quartered radishes in pickling fluid for about 15 mins, drain and set aside.
  3. When Quinoa is cooked, let it cool till lukewarm. Add parsley, pomegranate, pickled radishes, apricots, toasted almonds, lemon juice and orange essence. Mix and season to taste with salt and a pinch of sugar (if you find it too tart).

DipPlatter

One thought on “Apricot and Quinoa Tabuleh with Pickled Radish and Toasted Almonds

Leave a Reply

